Children run scared and more projects for work

4 Jul

Apparently, my death glare is epic. Two boys, most likely 3rd/4th grade range (except the Bosnian equivalent), were mocking a girl who was crying by imitating her. They were being such little monsters. So, I got closer to her than they were, and then glared. I glared into their souls. They walked away.

It gets so. much. better.

After a bit, I started walking towards the elevators to go downstairs and outside of BBI, and the little monsters were there again. I saw them and, upon making eye contact with the clear leader of the two, he ran away from me. Literally.

Kate: 1, Monsters: 0

Also, I got another project today. We have to evaluate the Constitutional Court’s jurisprudence in war crimes appeals cases. In these reports, Rachel and I will have to show that the Court had jurisprudence, in order to do so, we’ll need to show: a) what the jurisprudence of the Court is, b) how this case falls within that jurisprudence, and to show b, we will need to show 1) that the crime committed violates the laws of the BiH constitution and that 2) the requirements relating to the merits of the crime in question in this and other cases that must be met to be tried at the Constitutional Court. For example: torture isn’t always considered a war crime, if it is, it must meet certain factors and part of our job will be identifying what “rules” the court applies in determining when it is/isn’t a war crime. Rachel and I will each be doing this for 6 cases in addition to taking notes for the American Prosecutor and doing rule identification and case summaries for, in my case, two other cases.

Starting to feel like I’m here for an internship!

5 Responses to “Children run scared and more projects for work”

  1. Anna Mason July 4, 2011 at 9:20 PM #

    So I guess you are slightly intimidating… only to those who don’t know you though. =) Thats epic!! I wish you had a video taped that. Epic. Amazingness!!!

  2. charles alexander July 4, 2011 at 9:28 PM #

    Anna, she can be intimidating to those who DO know her, too.
    Kate, good luck with the cases!
    cheers!

    • Anna Mason July 6, 2011 at 12:58 AM #

      Haha this is true, but I’ll never admit it to her. 😉

  3. charles alexander July 5, 2011 at 2:27 PM #

    I find the part of this post about your work, finding whether the court has jurisprudence, determining “the rules” of the court, to be the most interesting material for thought. I imagine your research skills have become highly polished in the last few years. Kudos to you!

    • globetrotterkate July 5, 2011 at 7:20 PM #

      Thanks, Dad! My reading of the law is definitely being put to the test here, because the crazy thing is that the research is already done for you in the trial judgments, you just have to identify them in the mess of other rules/explanations/applications that are surrounding them. So I’m not sure it’s even research, it’s just the most critical kind of reading, really going through it with a toothpick. This is by far the most intimidating project I’ve ever done, but it’s needed and it is incredible what is being done here.

      Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

